Search
Left Quote    Treat your password like your toothbrush. Don't let anybody else use it, and get a new one every six months.
- Clifford Stoll    
Right Quote

[login] | [Register]
Forum Index » PHP and mySQL » Viewing Topic and Replies

Viewing Topic: min/max password length - member system
  This user is offline  lingh0e
  Subject: "min/max password length - member sy..." Posted: @ 3:02 am on Mar 03 2007   

Member #: 291
Since: 03/03/07

I am a relative newb to PHP and SQL, so please bear with me.

I got the entire member system set up, and I am trying to limit user passwords to a maximum of 8 characters.

I tried to modify the length in the user_password field on my members table to 8, it ended up trimming the md5 hash to 8 characters screwing up any login attempts (I suppose I should have assumed that would be the outcome, but to my credit I figured out the problem right away and fixed it).

So now I am assuming I have to put the length requirement in the registration page script in the same line as

Code:
if(strlen($_PO ST['password']) < 6 ) {
die('Error: Your password is too short. Must be 6 or more characters in length.');

Is this correct? And if so, what would be the proper syntax?

Thanks for the help,
Steve

Feel free to kick me if I get annoying
    Viewed: 5,635 Times | Reply to This | To top
  Subject: "re: min/max password length - membe..." Posted: @ 3:18 am on Mar 03 2007    

nevermind... I figured it out.

and I feel stupid for even asking in the first place.

Viewed: 5,628 Times | Reply to This | To top
  This user is offline  bs0d
  Subject: "re: min/max password length - membe..." Posted: @ 4:25 am on Mar 03 2007    

Member #: 1
Since: 02/06/05

Glad you figured it out; let me know if I can help with anything else. Good luck

-bs0d | AllSyntax.com

Viewed: 5,622 Times | Reply to This | To top
  Subject: "re: min/max password length - membe..." Posted: @ 4:48 am on Mar 03 2007