Search
Left Quote    I find that the harder I work, the more luck I seem to have.
- Thomas Jefferson    
Right Quote
 
[login] | [Register]
Forum Index » PHP and mySQL » Viewing Topic and Replies
Post Reply


        Viewing Topic: Go back link
  This user is offline  TracNav
  Subject: "Go back link" Posted: @ 9:38 am on Mar 24 2008   
Member #: 629
Rank: User - (11)
Since: 03/15/08
Posts: 11
From: Wokingham, UK.

Simply, I need a link that will act as a go back to the referring page. I have a shopping cart, and want the user to be able to go back to browsing the products page after entering an item. The problme is, I have an updating function when the user manually changes the quantity of an item in the cart - when they try to go back, it performs the same task again, adding another item to the purchase.

I cant just use a link as I have many different product pages, and they need to go to the right one!

I'd post up some of the php Ive been trying, but I wrote it and it'll be embarassing

Thanks, Trac.


When replying please bear in mind the severe simplicity of my brain. Thanks.
    Viewed: 8,985 Times | Reply to This | To top
  This user is offline  TracNav
  Subject: "re: Go back link" Posted: @ 9:56 am on Mar 24 2008    
Member #: 629
Rank: User - (11)
Since: 03/15/08
Posts: 11
From: Wokingham, UK.

Ok, I cant actually see whats wrong so here is my code [note, Ive only tried to redirect to products.php for now to keep it simple].


Code:


(At top of page)
$lasturl = $_SERVER['HTTP _REFERER'];

(In HTML)
<?php

if (strpos('produ cts.php',$last url)) {
echo '<p>< a href="jav ascript:history .go(-1)" title="Re turn to the previous page"> &laquo; Go back</a>& lt;/p>';
} else {
echo '<p>< a href="htt p://a51.seemepl ayme.net/ben/pr oducts.php&quo t; title="Pr oducts"&g t;&laquo; Go back to products</a& gt;</p>' ;
}

?>



Problem here is that even if I did come from products.php it will still display the link with "go back to products" . Any ideas / suggestions?




When replying please bear in mind the severe simplicity of my brain. Thanks.

    Viewed: 8,978 Times | Reply to This | To top
  This user is offline  bs0d
  Subject: "re: Go back link" Posted: @ 2:58 pm on Mar 24 2008    

Member #: 1
Rank: Admin. - (1,505)
Since: 02/06/05
Posts: 600
From: USA

Did you just try using Javascript? It would take them to the previous page visited, like this:

<a href="jav ascript: history.go(-1) ">Back& lt;/a>




-bs0d | AllSyntax.com

    Viewed: 8,968 Times | Reply to This | To top
  This user is offline  TracNav
  Subject: "re: Go back link" Posted: @ 1:15 pm on Mar 27 2008    
Member #: 629
Rank: User - (11)
Since: 03/15/08
Posts: 11
From: Wokingham, UK.

Yeah Ive tried that, but ofcourse if a user adds a quantity the 'back' will make it add that again. Im not very good at explaining, so try here: http://a51.seem eplayme.net/ben /shophome.php.< br />
Add an item to the cart, then change the quantity and press 'update cart'. Ive changed the link to 'continue shopping' for the moment. Imagine, if there was a 'go back' it would do the update again, adding more items to the cart and not taking you back.

Sorry




When replying please bear in mind the severe simplicity of my brain. Thanks.

    Viewed: 8,926 Times | Reply to This | To top
  This user is offline  bs0d
  Subject: "re: Go back link" Posted: @ 2:01 pm on Mar 27 2008    

Member #: 1
Rank: Admin. - (1,505)
Since: 02/06/05
Posts: 600
From: USA

One thing you might end up doing is in your code to add an item, check the inbox to see if the item already exists. If it does, prompt to add again (increase quantity by X) or cancel (do not add item).




-bs0d | AllSyntax.com

    Viewed: 8,921 Times | Reply to This | To top
  This user is offline  TracNav
  Subject: "re: Go back link" Posted: @ 8:05 pm on Mar 27 2008    
Member #: 629
Rank: User - (11)
Since: 03/15/08
Posts: 11
From: Wokingham, UK.

But this still doesnt solve the problem I'll keep a 'continue shopping' link until Ive rummaged around and found an answer. If I find one, I'll post a solution.

One thought was a javascript:hist ory.go(- number defined by how many times update function has been called ), though Im not sure how to do it - or even if its possible with javascript and php




When replying please bear in mind the severe simplicity of my brain. Thanks.

    Viewed: 8,906 Times | Reply to This | To top
Viewing Page: 1 of 1


1 |

You must be logged in to post on the forums. Login or Register








"AllSyntax.com" Copyright © 2002-2018; All rights lefted, all lefts righted.
Privacy Policy  |  Internet Rank